50 states and their capitals

Posted on by

List of States Capitals - U.S.

50 states and their capitals

50 States Song for Kids/50 States and Capitals for Children/USA 50 States


Can your child match each of the state capitals with its correct state? Students will have a chance to test their geography knowledge with this quiz about the 50 states and capitals. Ideal for fifth-grade social studies curriculum, this worksheet will help students learn and memorize each of the 50 states in the USA as well as their capital cities. Not an Education. Create an Account. Please enter your email address and we'll send you instructions to reset your password. Go back to sign in page.

Scroll down for the U. The capital city names are in alphabetical order by state. Memorizing the state capitals is a common memory exercise in schools. But remembering fifty of anything is a challenge. That's why I recommend using the "visualization association" mental images method for this task.

This is a list of the cities that are state capitals in the United States , ordered alphabetically by state. This list also provides the most recent U. This list does not include the capital of the United States, Washington, D. List of state capitals in the United States. Info Print Cite. Submit Feedback. Thank you for your feedback.

This is a list of capital cities of the United States, including places that serve or have served as federal, state, insular area, territorial, colonial, and Native American capitals. Washington, D. Each U. Most states have not changed their capital city since becoming a state, but the capital cities of their respective preceding colonies, territories, kingdoms, and republics typically changed multiple times. There have also been other governments within the current borders of the United States with their own capitals, such as the Republic of Texas, Native American nations, and other unrecognized governments. In this table, "Capital since" indicates the year in which the city started to continuously serve as the state's sole capital.

The United States of America is a federal republic [1] consisting of 50 states , a federal district Washington, D. States are the primary subdivisions of the United States, and possess a number of powers and rights under the United States Constitution , such as regulating intrastate commerce, running elections , creating local governments , and ratifying constitutional amendments. Each state has its own constitution , grounded in republican principles , and government, consisting of three branches: executive , legislative , and judicial. Each state is represented by two senators, while representatives are distributed among the states in proportion to the most recent constitutionally mandated decennial census. Since the establishment of the United States in , the number of states has expanded from the original 13 to the current total of 50, and each new state is admitted on an equal footing with the existing states. As provided by Article I , Section 8 of the Constitution, Congress exercises "exclusive jurisdiction" over the federal district, which is not part of any state.

List of state capitals in the United States

Wakko's 50 State Capitols [10 HOURS]

List of State Capitals



open youtube application and search



5 thoughts on “50 states and their capitals

Leave a Reply